Houghton Mifflin HarcourtHistory Channel

The National History Bee and Bowl is pleased to announce that it will be holding its annual Iowa History Bee and Bowl State Championships on Saturday, March 25, 2017 at Waukee High School in Waukee, IA. Like all regional and state championship tournaments, this tournament does not require prior qualification. This tournament will run on our A Set of questions this year, and it is open to all teams and students, including those from out of state, as long as they have not played the question set. For further details, please contact the Tournament Coordinator, Marshall Mullins, at marshall@historybowl.com. Thanks, and we hope you and your team will be able to join us!

Note: During lunch, we will administer the National Qualifying Exams for the US Geography Olympiad and the US History Bee. Students can take both exams and register for them either in advance or at the tournament itself; each costs $10. Students who are taking one exam are recommended to have someone else get lunch for them. Students who plan on taking both exams should definitely plan on having someone get lunch for them.

Note: Because this tournament is happening just 4 weeks before our National Championships, schools for whom this would be the closest tournament are welcome to email director@historybowl.com if they are interested in obtaining a wild card bid for our 2017 National Championships. They still must attend the History Bowl at Waukee though, and wild card bids are only available for the Bowl, not for any individual event at Nationals.


March 25, 2017


555 SE University Ave, Waukee, IA 50263

Question Set



Marshall Mullins


Morgan McChurch


  • 8:15
    Doors Open, Check-In Begins
  • 8:45
    Please Arrive By This Time!
  • 8:55
    Opening Meeting
  • 9:25
    History Bowl Round 1
  • 10:05
    History Bowl Round 2
  • 10:40
    History Bowl Round 3
  • 11:20
    History Bee Opening Meeting
  • 11:35
    History Bee Round 1
  • 12:05
    History Bee Round 2
  • 12:30
    History Bee Round 3
  • 12:50
    Lunch / US Geography Olympiad / US History Bee Qualifying Exam
  • 1:55
    History Bowl Round 4
  • 2:30
    History Bowl Round 5
  • 3:10
    History Bee Finals
  • 3:50
    History Bowl Quarterfinals/JV Finals
  • 4:25
    History Bowl Semifinals
  • 4:50
    History Bowl Finals
  • 5:30


  • 1: Waukee
  • 2: Westside *
  • 3: Bishop Garrigan
  • 4: Regina
  • 5: Chariton
  • 6: Grundy Center *
  • 7: Ankeny*
  • 8: Ames A
  • 9: Ames B
  • 10: Oskaloosa