Houghton Mifflin HarcourtHistory Channel

The National History Bee and Bowl is pleased to announce that it will be holding the Texas History Bee and Bowl State Championships at the University of Texas at Austin on Saturday, February 18, 2017. This tournament does not require prior qualification. This tournament will run on our A Set of questions this year, and it is open to all teams and students, including those from out of state, as long as they have not played the question set. For further details, please contact the Tournament Coordinator, Marshall Mullins, at marshall@historybowl.com. Thanks, and we hope you and your team will be able to join us!

The tournament will take place at Mezes Hall on the campus of UT-Austin.

Note: During lunch, we will administer the National Qualifying Exams for the US Geography Olympiad and the US History Bee. Students can take both exams and register for them either in advance or at the tournament itself; each costs $10. Students who are taking one exam are recommended to have someone else get lunch for them. Students who plan on taking both exams should definitely plan on having someone get lunch for them.


February 18, 2017


154 W 21st St, Austin, TX 78712

Question Set



Marshall Mullins


Arthur Lee


  • 8:00
    Doors Open, Check-In Begins
  • 8:30
    Please Arrive By This Time!
  • 8:45
    Opening Meeting
  • 9:00
    History Bowl Round 1
  • 9:30
    History Bowl Round 2
  • 10:00
    History Bowl Round 3
  • 10:30
    History Bee Opening Meeting
  • 10:45
    History Bee Round 1
  • 11:15
    History Bee Round 2
  • 11:45
    History Bee Round 3
  • 12:15
    Lunch / US Geography Olympiad / US History Bee Qualifying Exam
  • 1:15
    History Bowl Round 4
  • 1:45
    History Bowl Round 5
  • 2:15
    History Bee Finals
  • 2:45
    History Bowl Semifinals(Varsity) and Finals(JV)
  • 3:15
    History Bowl Finals
  • 4:00


  • 1: Selwyn School *
  • 2: Nelson Middle #
  • 3: Colleyville Heritage *
  • 4: St. John's
  • 5: James E. Taylor
  • 6: St. Dominic Savio
  • 7: St. Stephen's