(Washington, DC) The National History Bowl has just concluded its fourth annual National Championships, which were held on April 26-27 in Arlington, Virginia and at various host sites throughout the Washington, DC metro area. 216 teams from across the country competed over 15 rounds of competition. The champions in the Varsity division were the Liberal Arts and Sciences Academy (LASA) of Austin, Texas. Coached by Jason Flowers, the team consisted of Ben Jones, Alex Denko, John DiCarlo, and tournament MVP Nate Weiser. LASA had previously finished second in 2013 and tied for third in 2012 before finally capturing the National History Bowl title this year. Saratoga High School in Saratoga, CA finished as runner up, while last year’s champion, Bellarmine College Prep of San Jose, CA and the Illinois Math and Science Academy team from Aurora, IL took the semifinalist honors.

Beachwood High School of Beachwood, Ohio won the Small School Division outright, as the only small school team to make the playoffs, while Alex Oltarsh of Team TriBeCa was the top solo team in the 132-team Varsity field, making the Octofinals.

In the Junior Varsity Division, Westview High School of Portland, Oregon won over Farragut High School of Farragut, TN in the finals. A number of the Westview team members (consisting of Jonathan Tran, Nishit Mishra, Priyansh Sharma, and Shouvik Deb, and coached by Alex Tran) had previously been on the team that won the Middle School National History Bowl in 2013, so their success continues at the high school level. The Advanced Math and Sciences Academy was the Junior Varsity Small School Champion, while Pratham Chhabria of Team Pseudonymous Institution was the top JV solo team, and Bethlehem Middle School of Bethlehem, NY was the highest placing middle school team.

Full results are available through the links to Nationals information, while a number of the matches and interviews with players can be found on the National History Bowl Youtube channel.

NHBB would like to thank our tournament sponsors, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and History (commonly known as the History Channel), all of our host sites in and around Washington, DC and Arlington, VA, our staff who makes the tournament happen, and all the students, coaches, parents, and supporters who came to compete at Nationals or helped those who did. Thanks for an incredible weekend of competition, and we’ll see you next year on April 24-26, 2015!