(Hanoi, Vietnam – June 18, 2014) For the third successive year, The National History Bee and Bowl has been privileged to sponsor the National Quizbowl Awards, which were distributed at the National All Star Academic Tournament held in Columbus, OH on Sunday, June 15. These awards are given out to the best all-subject quizbowl players in the country, though performance at NHBB events is certainly taken into account.

The National High School Player of the Year was Eric Xu of Western Albemarle High School in Crozet, VA; earlier, Eric had finished in third place in the National History Bee. One of the other four National A Team Players was Nathan Weiser of the Liberal Arts & Sciences Academy of Austin, TX who finished as the MVP at the National History Bowl National Championships en route to a first place finish. LASA Coach Jason Flowers was named High School Coach of the Year, after leading his team to titles at the National History Bowl, NAQT High School National Championship Tournament, and the PACE National Scholastics Championship.

Other winners included Middle School Player of the Year, William Golden, and his father, Michael Golden, as the Middle School Coach of the Year – both of Harmony School of Excellence in Houston, TX. LASA players Ethan Russo and Corin Wagen tied for National 10th Grade Player of the Year while Shub Mehta of Dorman High School in Roebuck, SC was the National 9th Grade Player of the Year. Ben Zhang of Ladue Horton Watkins High School in Ladue, MO; Sam Blizzard of Northmont High School in Clayton, OH; and Carlo De Guzman of St. John’s School in Houston, TX joined Eric and Nathan on the National A Team as well. Congratulations to all the recipients on their success!