The National History Bee and Bowl is pleased to announce that its 2019 Northwestern Illinois History Bee and Bowl will be held at Winnebago High School in Winnebago, IL on Saturday, December 14.   This tournament will run on our C Set of questions, and like all NHBB Varsity and Junior Varsity events, is open to all students, regardless of what state they are from, as long as they have not yet played this set of questions in the 2019-2020 academic year. To register, please visit this link. For further information, please email the Tournament Coordinator at the address listed below. Thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you and your team to Winnebago in December!

Note 1: During the lunch break, we will offer the National Qualifying Exams for the US Geography Championships / International Geography Bee (one exam serves to qualify students for the National Championships of both competitions), the US History Bee, the National Political Science Bee, and the National Science Bee. All exams cost $10 and can be signed up for on the day of the tournament; pre-registration is not required.

Note 2: The schedule as listed below is considered tentative until registration opens, and thereafter, may still be subject to slight changes based on turnout until registration closes, at which point it will be confirmed. Students and teams looking for further guidance on the schedule should contact the Tournament Coordinator at the address listed below.

Tournament Report

The National History Bee and Bowl held its 2018 Northwestern Illinois History Bee and Bowl at Belvidere High School in Belvidere, IL on Saturday, December 1. Congratulations to our champions!

Varsity History Bowl: Auburn
Varsity History Bee: Joe Sheperd, Commonwealth
Junior Varsity History Bowl: Elgin Academy
Junior Varsity History Bee: Aadit Juneja, Aptakisic

Thanks to the teams who attended, and thanks as well to everyone who assisted with reading and scorekeeping throughout the day. Special thanks to Stuart Warner, who coordinated the hosting arrangements at Belvidere, and to Kristin Strey, who directed the tournament!